And the Winner of the 2016 Montalto Sculpture Prize is… James Parrett for his work M-Twentyfour (Biggest).  Congratulations to James who received the $30,000 Prize.   His work M-Twentyfour (Biggest) will join the other 26 permanent pieces in the Montalto Sculpture Collection, including the 13 previous Prize winners.

parrett4 (772x1024)


The Mitchell Family Choice Award ($1,000 non-acquisitive) went to Serena Bonson for ‘Wangarra Family’.

bonson (635x1024)


The MSP Exhibition of Finalists is open daily from 11am – 5pm from 28 February – 30 October 2016, and entry to the Exhibition is free.  All of the sculptures (apart from the winning piece) are available for sale.

To hear the artists talking about their works, click here

2016 Montalto Sculpture Prize Finalists:

Congratulations to the following…

  • Helen Laetitia Alexander
  • Robert Barnstone
  • Aldo Bilotta
  • Serena Bonson
  • Andreas Buisman
  • Ben Carroll
  • Julie Collins & Derek John
  • Mark Cuthbertson
  • Sam Deal
  • Ralf Driessen
  • Lang Ea
  • Brendan Hackett
  • Martin George
  • Phil Gordon
  • Greg Johns
  • Mike Nicholls
  • James Parrett
  • RCM Collective
  • Ellen Sayers
  • Michael Shiell
  • Salli Sixpence
  • Marcus Tatton
  • Nicholas Uhlmann
  • Frank Veldze
  • Stewart Westle
  • Christabel Wigley


Key Dates:

  • Wednesday 20th January – Saturday 23rd January 2016.  Installation of finalists work
  • Sunday 28th February 2016. Exhibition opening. Winner announced.
  • Sunday 28th February 2016 – Sunday 3oth October 2016. Exhibition to be held in the grounds of Montalto.

The Judges for the 2016 Montalto Sculpture Prize:

  • Peter Williams (Williams Boag Architects)
  • Brian Sadgrove (Sadgrove Design)
  • Phillip Doggett-Williams (Artist & Curator)
  • John Mitchell (Montalto)
  • Guest Judge: Ian Hicks